peeks at the world through my lens

German WWII Atlantikwall Pillbox

DSC_0507_HDR

Nazi Pillbox, Scheveningen Beach, The Hague, Netherlands

When I was a kid living in Holland in ’75 and ’76 I used to ride my bike to the beach (Scheveningen Beach) with my brother Mike and our friends. Near the end of the ride we passed through extensive sand dunes before we reached the North Sea. At the periphery of the dunes we passed these Nazi German R671 Pillboxes, which are remnants of the German Atlantikwall heavy artillery defense system.

The Atlantikwall was an extensive system of costal defense fortifications built by Hitler and Nazi Germany between 1942 and 1944 along the coast of Europe and Scandinavia which included trenches, gun positions, colossal coastal guns, and thousands of German troops stationed to protect against the anticipated Allied invasion of WWII. They are part of a last generation of static defences built on such a large scale.

In writing this entry I came across a website that visually depicts the Third Reich’s massive defensive line established on the European Western coast.  Of special  interest to me were the photographs of the intricate tunnel systems built  beneath these very structures on this small section of the Dutch coast. I highly encourage you to explore this link (Bunkersite.com) and visit the tunnels and trenches under this and other beaches as well as descriptions of other components of the Third Reich’s Atlantikwall. Start with the gray links on the left of the page. This photo is from my 2014 visit back to Holland.

 

3 responses

  1. Kathy

    Really good photo. Lots of memories for you as a young boy in Holland. 🙂

    February 19, 2016 at 9:31 pm

  2. Anonymous

    Sad history. Let us not forget. I’m reading “All The Light we Cannot See”, which recalls the horrors of St. Malo. I consider it a “must read”. Website is an awesome reminder.

    February 20, 2016 at 4:43 am

    • Thank you for visiting! I love historical fiction, and have read many WWII versions. Your book is incredible, I really enjoyed it and passed it to my daughter to read. If you like this book, you may like The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah, which investigates the role that many women played in the war.

      February 20, 2016 at 10:30 am

Leave a Reply

