peeks at the world through my lens

Ponte Vecchio Bridge, Florence (Firenze) Italy

f/11 ISO 400 1/250 55mm

First, I want tho say that IT’S GREAT to be back. I have been “offline” for quite some time and have neglected this blog that I had come to enjoy so much. I had some pesky cervical spine discs that decided to herniate over the years, and finally they got the best of me. Pretty much anything, even computer time, became an unbearable “pain on the neck” (and back, shoulder, arm, and hand).  Also,  carrying a bag as light as a camera bag was too much. The offending discs have since been removed, and I now have three fused vertebrae in my neck to show for it all!  I just got clearance to carry more that a few kg, so hopefully carrying the camera will keep me motivated to pick up again with the blog.

This is a shot of the Ponte Veccio Bridge over the River Arno in Firenze (Florence) Italy. My wife and I visited for a few days last summer, and had a fantastically fun and romantic trip to the “Cradle of the Renaissance “. As Rick Steve’s says, Florence is a “Super Market Sweep”, and the groceries are the best Renaissance art in Europe! (and home of Italy’s best gelato! ). I was most focused on a tour of as many Michelangelo’s works as I could see, which Florence hosts many.

This is an HDR that I created from one source image. Three copies were created at 2 f-stops intervals,  merged with Photomatix,  and tuned in Aperture.

 

 

 

 

 

8 responses

  1. Welcome back, good to see you posting again.

    June 8, 2012 at 11:32 pm

  2. Anonymous

    Glad your back man.

    June 9, 2012 at 1:01 am

  3. Beautiful shot. I guess great minds think alike.

    June 9, 2012 at 1:42 am

  4. Amazing!

    June 9, 2012 at 2:39 am

  5. Glad you’re back,,sorry you had those nasty difficulties and hope you are feeling much better…love your work 🙂

    June 9, 2012 at 3:47 am

  6. sil

    Welcome back! Hope things are getting better now. Fantastic capture of Ponte Vecchio!

    June 9, 2012 at 9:48 am

  7. Glad you’re back and better! I home to see many more of your amazing shots soon 🙂

    June 10, 2012 at 10:46 am

  8. Welcome back! Beautiful shot!
    Ashley

    June 10, 2012 at 7:40 pm

Leave a Reply

