peeks at the world through my lens

Vernazza Harbor by Night

f/16 ISO 200 30s 18-200@26mm

On 25 October 2011, Vernazza was struck by torrential rains, massive flooding, and mudslides that left the town buried in over 4 metres of mud and debris, causing over 100 million euro worth of damage. The town was evacuated and remains in a continued state of emergency. Click here to read more about the disaster and to see images and videos. And please consider visiting Vernazza at some time in the future. They will surely appreciate your tourism dollars.

5 responses

  1. Gorgeous image.

    February 1, 2012 at 5:39 pm

  2. It is so great that you are drawing people to visit again this magnificent place – Le Cinque Terre needs visitors to return to stimulate the economy who is so dependent on tourism. I was heartbroken when I saw the devastation from the flooding because, like you say, it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. The shot at night from above Vernazza is great. Thanks. toni

    February 1, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    • Thanks Toni. I see now that there are a few sites dedicated to helping rebuild Vernazza. I think I will post links to them soon. I was also heartbroken to find out that Monterossa was hit, but not as bad. I plan to return sometime this year, maybe early summer. Thanks for visiting.

      February 2, 2012 at 1:58 pm

  3. great photo, thanks for telling us about it, I will have to do a little research and look into travelling there.

    February 12, 2012 at 1:55 pm

  4. Splendid photo – well done and thankyou for dropping by my post.

    March 1, 2012 at 12:40 pm

Leave a Reply

