peeks at the world through my lens

One for the Francophiles

f/5.6 ISO 200 1/250 -0.67ev 18-200@200mm

 

Here is one for the Francophile followers. I find that one of the most creatively challenging aspects of my travel photography is capturing an image of a subject that has been “photographed to death”. I normally first attempt to take the requisite “scrapbook,  been there” type image, then try to get a little more creative or unique. This image was taken on a rainy and dreary weekend in Paris when it was best to stay indoors. We headed to the Pompidou Museum  (which if you have not seen is a MUST VISIT), and while walking through one of the outdoor glass tunnels , I spotted this view of the Tower hidden in the mist over the Parisian rooftops.

This shot is from late 2010, before I started shooting RAW, so this JPEG has had almost no adjustments. I hope to get back to Paris soon for some more great food/wine/photography!

13 responses

  1. TBM

    Very eerie!

    January 30, 2012 at 12:54 pm

  2. Great shot, and there’s even the French flag, so there’s no mistaking where you were 🙂

    January 30, 2012 at 6:39 pm

  3. what an amazing shot.

    it’s simply beautiful.

    a photo of paris, like no other.

    January 31, 2012 at 1:20 am

    • Thanks, Sprinks! I appreciate you nice compliments.

      February 1, 2012 at 10:35 am

  4. What a gorgeous and novel way to photograph this.

    February 14, 2012 at 12:17 am

  5. Great twist on an old icon.
    The fog really enhances the perspective and makes me feel out of touch with the tower. An icon I am so used to seeing super crisp and saturated is now fogged as if to remind me that this is only a photograph.

    February 28, 2012 at 1:53 am

  6. I love this. I’m not sure you could make it any better if you tried to fiddle with it 🙂

    March 1, 2012 at 12:25 pm

  7. vintage/me

    really amazing! I saw also your beautiful picture of Italy, my place…they’re absolutely elegant and wonderful 😉

    June 9, 2012 at 6:54 pm

Leave a Reply

