peeks at the world through my lens

Boats in Cinque Terre’s Riomaggiore

f/7.1 ISO 200 -0.33 ev 18-200@66

Boats floating in the bay in Riomaggiore, a small village on the Cinque Terra coast of the Italian Rivera. Cinque Terre is a collection of “The Five Lands” , or 5 villages, which are built into the cliffs of this rugged coastline.

This is an absolutely beautiful region which is so breathtaking that it becomes a sensory overload. The area, including the Cinque Terre National Park, are actually UNESCO World Heritage sites. A huge part of their charm is their remoteness and their “car-free” environment.

AND THE FOOD….COME ON!! Our family is agreed that this is one of the two best culinary samplings that we have had in all of our travels through Europe! And if you LOVE seafood, you may never leave!

This image, and any more that I may post from this trip, are before my RAW days, so they are JPEGs untouched by post-processing.

16 responses

  1. Great color and composition!

    January 30, 2012 at 3:13 pm

  2. Cinqua Terra tops my list of fav. / most beautiful places on earth. I can’t wait to go back there with my family soon!

    January 30, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    • You are so right! We stayed in Vernazza, a must see if you didn’t visit the first time around.

      February 1, 2012 at 10:26 am

  3. gorgeous colours! Beautiful.

    January 30, 2012 at 4:44 pm

  4. great photo.
    I am loving the colour combos.

    January 31, 2012 at 1:19 am

  5. sil

    Wonderful colors! Love Cinque Terre too and would love to go back there someday: after all I’m living in Italy 🙂 By the way, it’s Cinque Terre and not Terra – hope you don’t mind my telling you 🙂 Ciao!

    January 31, 2012 at 11:35 am

  6. gorgeous!

    January 31, 2012 at 7:14 pm

  7. Absolutely beautiful photographs. I loved Cinque Terre when I went there last May and feel so saddened by what has happened there. I am sure they will come back and I urge travelers to return as tourism is their major industry.

    February 2, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    • Thanks Margie. We hope to return soon, maybe this summer.

      February 5, 2012 at 8:38 am

  8. Absolutely gorgeous photo!

    February 5, 2012 at 8:12 am

    • Thanks Katy! Unfortunately, there is a sad story tied in with my Cinque Terre posts. Maybe you should make your “V” European blog entry on Vernazza! Thanks for the visit.

      February 5, 2012 at 8:37 am

      • I truly hope it can survive the disaster not only because, despite all my trips to Italy, I have yet to visit the Cinque Terre. Sadly I’m home now, and am writing my blog entries post-adventure so cannot add any more destinations to the itinerary, but next time I’m in Italy I would love to go there.

        February 5, 2012 at 8:42 am

Leave a Reply

