peeks at the world through my lens

Doin’ (tryin’) Street II

f/4 ISO 400 1/500 -0.33ev 50mm

I wanted to make a New Years Resolution that involved photography this year. At first I thought about focusing on motion and long exposure photos, than I came across a blog by Lindsay Thomas whose title exposed to me what I think is my biggest weakness in photography, photographing people. With this in mind, I set a new resolution…

I then discovered a genre of photography called “Street Photography“, and became really excited to give it a go. The biggest online inspiration came from Thomas Leuthard and his webpage, 85mm: Street Photography (check it out).  So I set out yesterday and today on the street of Zurich to give it a shot. WOW…exciting. I was very nervous and apprehensive at first (did I mention my xenphobia?), but somewhat settled  down after a bit and really had fun. It is definitely harder than I anticipated, especially close-up shots, which I have yet to really attempt. Here are a few from my first two outings, stay tuned for more.

14 responses

  1. anotherphotonoob

    a-some photo

    January 13, 2012 at 2:10 pm

  2. good job, i too find this type of photography difficult! check out http://www.flickr.com/photos/frankfullard/
    frank fullard does a great job of portaits on the street!

    January 13, 2012 at 2:56 pm

  3. Great idea interesting pics. Great job!!! I too do not enjoy people portraits!!! : )

    On an unrelated note how do you get the like with pics button on your blog??? I can’t find it? Thanks and have a good one!!

    January 13, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    • Thanks! As far as you question, I think you are asking how to get the “Like this” button on a post? You have it on all of yours, so maybe you have figured it out..The reader just has to go to the “Leave a comment” section first before they can hit it. Let me know if this is not what you meant.

      January 15, 2012 at 8:21 am

  4. Street is magical! Keep shooting:-)

    January 13, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    • Thanks Mili! It is awesome, you are right. I have never had an adrenaline rush just taking pictures like I got when taking these first Street images.

      p.s. I followed your link to Blur Magazine..what a great e-zine. What issue were you in?

      January 15, 2012 at 8:25 am

  5. Just loved all the Stones & Cobbles in France. Stunning.

    January 13, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    • Thanks Darla! p.s. Nice gravatar image. I am a Kawasaki er-6f (all black) man myself…

      January 15, 2012 at 9:03 am

  6. Great shot.

    January 13, 2012 at 8:48 pm

  7. sil

    Great capture! I think I should do the same: it seems I have huge problems taking pictures of people. Good luck on your resolution. You’re doing really good so far!

    January 15, 2012 at 1:56 pm

  8. As somebody who only recently started dabbling in capturing street scenes, I can relate to your excitement and anxiousness at the same time 🙂

    What i have realized so far is you need to love humanity in general and open up yourself before you can become a good street photographer.

    All the best on your new journey !

    February 27, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    • Thanks AZ. I appreciate the advice and the visit!

      February 28, 2012 at 8:08 am

  9. It’s hard for me to imagine a xenophobe independently choosing street photography. I’m very impressed by that alone. I hope that your involvement in SP has begun to open you up to verious cultures and subcultures. You can’t get along with everyone but the world at large is still a fascinating place because of the various people in it.

    Good stuff.

    August 4, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Leave a Reply

