peeks at the world through my lens

Have you been to Washington, DC?

Being from the area, I have been there innumerable times, yet somehow have very few good snapshots. Seems like we always tend to ignore the places that are closest to home. How many of you are from a big city, but somehow have never seen the touristy places that visitors treasure?

The first image of the Capitol almost got me arrested for twice attempting to set up my tripod on Capitol grounds without permission. On the second attempt, I SWEAR I was shooting from where the first cop told me to stand! But this shot from across the street ended up better thant the first ones anyway..funny how that works.

The second image is a shot of the Supreme Court building. The last image is an HDR from the steps of the Supreme Court looking back at the Capitol. I was happy that I got the flag in there as well. The B&W images were created Silver Efex Pro. HDR image is from 3 bracket images, merged with Photomatix. All images were fine-tuned with Aperture.

Happy Holidays!

4 responses

  1. Very nicely done. That intentional keystoning on the wide angle image of the Supreme Court is very effective, IMO.

    FWIW, I’ve spent the majority of my life in the Chicago area but I have essentially nothing (photographically) from the city. Part of the reason for that is that I don’t do much urban shooting, but part of it is because, not infrequently, familiarity breeds contempt.

    December 23, 2011 at 4:15 am

  2. I had always hope that I would go there someday. There’s so much to see. The Wall, is the biggest thing for me. Hope you have a very Merry Christmas…

    December 23, 2011 at 9:10 pm

  3. You have captured these nicely, even in threat of the Secret Service. I actually live around there.

    December 28, 2011 at 8:03 pm

  4. Great images! I actually lived in DC for many years. I love the city and this brings back great memories. Txs for the post.

    December 29, 2011 at 1:48 am

Leave a Reply

