peeks at the world through my lens

Beam me up, Zurich!

ISO 200, f11, 1/30 sec, 10-24@10mm

Paradaplatz Tram stop in Zurich, Switzerland. This is my favorite HDR that I have created to date. It is actually one of the first HDR images that I made. It is also one of the first shots that I took with my then-new 10-24mm lens which I LOVE. I was very flattered when a friend of mine asked if they could hang this image on their wall. He actually printed it on metal and framed it, which ended up looking really nice.

The title of todays blog entry is derived from the fact that this image reminds me of the USS Enterprise from Star Trek. The image was created from three handheld bracketed images at -2, 0, +2 and merged with Photomatix. Final tweaking and cropping was with Aperture. Thanks for visiting.

10 responses

  1. I love you image thanks for telling us a little about the tram stop. It is nice to see the world through the eyes of photographers, and I like to know what I am looking at, so I appreciated a few words or a stor as well!

    December 20, 2011 at 2:54 pm

  2. Very nice!!!! I am interested in HDR also…as another tool to create. Have you ever used nik hdr? I know some of the bigger names use photomatix and I would love to hear the pros and cons of either/both if you have insight. Could we dish about it?? Also any other tips you may want to share. How many images do you usually find yourself combining? 1/2 stop? Full stop? Do you always use a tripod? YOucould e mail me if you prefer to keeep it off your blog. Thanks lightbox I like your eye. 🙂

    December 20, 2011 at 4:49 pm

  3. Ade

    I love the way you’ve taken a fairly mundane spot in a city and really transformed it ( into the Enterprise! ). Fantastic, along with a lot of your other shots.

    If you don’t mind telling, where was the shot of the lighthouse in your header image taken?

    December 20, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    • Thanks so much, Ade! The shot of the lighthouse was taken on Lake Vattern in the middle of Sweden on a WICKED cold December day. It is one of the lighthouses that protects the marina in the town of Hjo. Thanks for the visit!

      December 22, 2011 at 10:14 am

      • Ade

        Thanks for letting me know. It does look cold. Would love to visit some day. Cheers

        December 23, 2011 at 6:21 pm

  4. I love your style! It makes your subjects look like a pastel drawing.

    December 28, 2011 at 3:12 am

  5. What a fantastic image! Haven’t done HDR myself but this is very inspiring.

    December 29, 2011 at 1:46 am

    • Give it a shot Alicia! Thanks…

      January 9, 2012 at 1:48 pm

  6. Amazing photo! I don’t know what HDR is but makes me want to find out 🙂

    February 12, 2012 at 12:51 pm

  7. Thanks again! HDR is pretty easy. You take three identical pictures of something including one dark exposure, one normal exposure, and one bright exposure. This way, everything in the images Even the super-dark and super-bright stuff) is properly exposed in at least one of the images. You then merge all three images into one with computer software, and tweek the colors at the end to your liking. You camera can shoot these images, and I did not use a tripod for these. I just stood REAL still. Thanks for visiting.

    February 12, 2012 at 2:01 pm

Leave a Reply

