peeks at the world through my lens

Colors of Venice

ISO 200, f2.5, 1/30 sec, 50@50mm

 

The island of Venice, Italy, is an art gallery lovers dream. There are hundreds of small galleries all throughout the island, many located on hidden side streets, off the normal tourist paths. While walking down one of these small side streets (I guess you call them streets, however there are no cars on the island), I came across a small hardware store which doubled as an art supply store for the locals. On the far wall was this collection of  photogenic pigments which  the store owner told me were used for everything from coloring textiles to making paints. In addition, he just happened to be an artist himself, and had a show across the street  in a very unique stone-walled gallery. If only I had disposable income!

The lesson that I learned from this shot was to ALWAYS have  your camera with you when you travel. The first time I walked by, I didnt have my camera and rushed back to the hotel to get it. The following day, he had taken down the mask, and the shot was gone!

Ciao for now…

10 responses

  1. I love the colours in this shot

    November 26, 2011 at 8:44 am

    • Thanks BBOD! They were pretty damn photogenic

      November 27, 2011 at 10:48 am

  2. Amazing shot, I like this very much! 🙂

    November 26, 2011 at 9:25 am

  3. Beautiful photograph!

    November 26, 2011 at 4:27 pm

  4. A great capture with lovely colours. Keep carrying the camera!

    December 3, 2011 at 2:51 pm

  5. Without the hessian covered mask it would be a good image. The addition makes it a great image.

    You were indeed fortunate to be there on that day. I only wish I had your eye.

    December 8, 2011 at 10:29 am

    • Thanks Coffee! And thanks for visiting.

      December 8, 2011 at 2:35 pm

  6. Beautiful blog entry. Venice is a living dream. Only wish I had more time to explore it! You truly found a grand shot!

    December 10, 2011 at 3:34 am

    • Thanks Jeannie and thanks for visiting! I will post a few more of Venice today.

      December 15, 2011 at 9:37 am

  7. I’m sure you also visited the mask shop owned by Gualtiero Dall’Osto while you were there. His shop was very small but I loved all of the mask designs. We almost bought one but ultimately passed because we feared we wouldn’t be able to get the mask back to Chicago in one piece.

    January 13, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Leave a Reply

