peeks at the world through my lens

Portrait Lighting for Photography

One of the aspects of photography that I know very little about is lighting. I recently purchased a really nice flashgun for my camera, the Nikon SB700. At first I had a little buyers remorse after spending so much $$ on a flash, but the more I read about it and especially USE IT, the more I really love it. It has already made a difference in my shots, even in the limited time that I have played with it.

So now that I have this awesome flash, it is time to pour through YouTube and REALLY learn how to use it . In doing so, I have picked up quite a few pointers on lighting in general, especially basic theory and layout for simple portrait lighting. I came across this great instructional video on portrait lighting basics by TheSlantedLens, and thought that I would pass it on to the blog-o-spere. In the video, Jay P. Margan demonstrates 5 different types of Portrait lighting:

  • Rembrant Light
  • Split Light
  • Broad Light
  • Butterfly Light
  • Loop Light

 

Take notes and let him know if u like it!

I will try to post some shots using the new flash soon, maybe even some attempts at portrait lighting!

Portrait Lighting for Photography and Video! – YouTube.

 

3 responses

  1. kmwoodman

    I would recommend attending a lighting workshop or getting some one-on-one with someone who’s very familiar with off-camera flash. I’m someone that prefers to self-teach, but I found lighting to be an area where I really benefited from a workshop (I love Sid Ceaser here in New England) and one-on-one instruction. And more than anything else – practice practice practice!!! Good luck to you!

    November 20, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    • Thanks, Kristin! I think that you are absolutely correct. I have actually found a pro that teaches photo workshops, and have talked to him about a lighting course…but BOY, classes here in Switzerland are $$$. Thanks for visiting.

      November 22, 2011 at 3:35 pm

  2. sil

    Thanks for sharing this! I’m trying to learn to use my flash too and the video will be very helpful. I really have no clue when it comes to flash photography. On my blog I’ve listed two books you may find interesting.
    Greetings from Italy 🙂

    January 5, 2012 at 7:23 pm

Leave a Reply

